Stawell Tennis Club report, February 23

Crowe Horwath continued to assert its dominance of the Stawell Tennis Club’s Friday night competition during round 3.

Farrers Tyrepower’s ascent up the ladder also gained momentum, with the team recording a narrow victory.

Another comfortable win was assured early for Crowe Horwath against Frewstal when they flew out of the blocks.

They won eight out of the first 11 matches to take an almost unassailable lead prior to the tea break.

Things didn't improve for Frewstal, who eventually went down by a margin of 36 games.

Crowe Horwath boasted a host of players who didn't drop a set for the evening.

These included Phil Hutton, Sam Carter, Jonah O'Shannessy, Zayne Hall and Dakota Cosson.

O'Shannessy – living up to his billing as a player on the rise – conceded just four games all night.

Jade Cross and Brae Scantleton battled hard for Frewstal.

But they lacked the support from their teammates, with the final scoreline reading Crowe Horwath 18 sets, 174 games defeated Frewstal 9 sets, 138 games.

Elsewhere, Farrers Tyrepower and David O'Jones Mitre 10 fought out a thrilling encounter.

Farrers came from behind to win the last five sets and reign triumphant by a mere eight games.

The powerful yet erratic Amy Hodgetts was on song, winning all three sets.

She was well supported by Jesse Barber, who also at times displays inconsistency but was outstanding on Friday night.

Barber won all his matches convincingly, as was Brian O'Shannessy, who utilised his exquisite timing to never give sub Rod Reading a chance.

Never O'Shannessy, Declan Pyke and Josh Cox all put their best foot forward for David O’Jones Mitre 10. 

But it wasn't quite enough for the team, which went down 13 sets, 159 games to Farrers Tyrepower 14 sets, 167 games.

The two top teams on the ladder, Crowe Horwath and Farrers Tyrepower, will do battle in round 4. 

David O'Jones Mitre 10 will look for their first victory when they go head to head with Frewstal.


Crowe Horwath, 63pts

Farrers Tyrepower, 49pts

Frewstal, 43pts

David O'Jones Mitre 10, 31pts