Stawell junior tennis awards presented

Stawell junior tennis has wrapped up their season with the presentation of their medals and trophies.

Stawell Tennis Club last week saw their junior final take place with Ferrer defeating Murray in a close battle for the A grade title and Azarenka getting over the top of Wozniacki in B grade.

Paul Summers was awarded the best A grade player in the final after not dropping a set and Sam Ranton in B grade after a fighting effort for the losing team.

Other awards on offer were the individual aggregates, which saw A grade's Declan Pyke and Hannah Burton and B grade's Charlie Faulkner and Crystal Summers all take home trophies and encouragement awards were received by Paul Summers and Bridget Johnson in the A grade and Henry Clough and Isabella Browne in the B Grade.

The aggregate trophies in the A grade were a nice finish to the year for Pyke and Burton as their team went down by just two games in the final.

The junior tennis champions were also presented on the day concluding what has been a big summer of tennis action.

Junior Tennis Championships

A Grade Singles Champions: Jake Stainsby, Amy Hodgetts; A Grade Singles Runners Up: Callum Rickard, Bridget Johnson; A Grade Doubles Champions : Callum Rickard and Jesse Barber, Mia Jensz and Kasey Mornane; A Grade Doubles Runners Up: Jake Stainsby and Angus Williams, Kimberly Blake and Bridget Johnson; B Grade Singles Champions: Ryan Nellthorp, Crystal Summers; B Grade Singles Runners Up: Nathan Churchill, Jade Ellen; B Grade Doubles Champions : Bailey Burkhill and Lachlan Cox, Jade Ellen, Neve O'Shannessy; B Grade Doubles Runner Up: Ryan Nellthorp and Zach Jenkinson, Holly Graveson and Madeline Jardine.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide