Crowe Horwath undefeated | Stawell Tennis Club's Friday night competition

Crowe Horwath remains the only undefeated team in the Stawell Tennis Club’s premier competition after round two.

Friday night saw the Crowe Horwath contingent secure a comprehensive victory over a hapless David O'Jones Mitre 10, while Farrers Tyrepower accounted for last week’s big winners Frewstal.

Crowe Horwath has stamped its authority on the competition, running out 36 game victors over the bottom-placed David O'Jones Mitre 10.

Blair Hart was back to his ruthless best after an indifferent performance last week - the skipper leading from the front and winning all three matches.

Jonah O'Shannessy followed Hart’s lead winning all three sets and has been utterly dominant in the singles’ contests this season, his opponents powerless to quell the onslaught.

Anna Sullivan was the queen of the courts in the women’s section, her impeccable timing making a mockery of the 12 months spent away from the game.

Two youngsters Josh Cox and William McDermott battled hard for David O'Jones Mitre 10 but not enough to change the result.

Final scores: Crowe Horwath 18 sets 187 games def David O'Jones Mitre Ten 9 sets 151 games.

The other matchup between Farrers Tyrepower and Frewstal was fought hard throughout the evening, with Frewstal adding a bit of respectability to the scoreboard in the mixed sets with some comfortable victories.

But it was Erin Freeland who was the catalyst for the victory, convincingly winning all three sets, while Dartagnan Walls and Chris Simpkin ensured the triumph was never in doubt.

Walls participated in the match of the night - a break win over Henry Clough.

Both players produced a vast array of shot-making, demonstrating why they are regarded as future stars of the club.

Jade Cross and Kasey Mornane provided a strong one-two punch for Frewstal but it was to no avail, going down by 10 games, 162 to 152.

This week sees the top two teams on the ladder square off in Crowe Horvath and Frewstal, while Farrers Tyrepower and David O'Jones Mitre 10 will battle it out to remain in touch with the top two.


Crowe Horwath 41

Frewstal 34

Farrers Tyrepower 31 

David O'Jones Mitre 10 18