Jayden Wright caps off dream junior footy season

Stawell 13 and Under Football Association best and fairest Jayden Wright (left) with runner up Jacob Salmi. Picture: MARCUS MARROW

Stawell 13 and Under Football Association best and fairest Jayden Wright (left) with runner up Jacob Salmi. Picture: MARCUS MARROW

HAWKS ruckman Jayden Wright capped off a dream season when he took out the Stawell Thirteen and Under Football Association league best and fairest award.

Wright, who had a consistent season as captain of the premiership winning Hawks, polled a total of 34 votes in the league best and fairest count to claim the win.

The count came down to the wire, with Wright and Tigers captain Jacob Salmi level pegging for most of the night.

Wright was able to collect a couple of best on ground performances late in the season to draw away for a three vote win from Salmi, with Hawks onballer Bailey Taylor polling 28 votes to finish third. Fourth in the best and fairest was Magpies player Joshua Reid who polled 17 votes.

In a twist, Bailey Taylor turned the tables in the Hawks club best and fairest count, polling 27 votes to win the top award by a single vote from Wright.

Both players produced a number of best on ground performances and shot clear of third placed Cooper Reading, who polled 21 votes.

Taylor was a key to Hawks premiership win this season, also claiming the VCFL medal for best on ground in the grand final.

Aiden Graveson was a runaway winner in the Bulldogs best and fairest, polling 31 votes to win by 10 from Jacob Lowe. Graveson was a driving force behind the success of Bulldogs in 2014, his run through the midfield creating plenty of opportunities.

He was named in Bulldogs best players in the grand final loss against Hawks.

Captain Jacob Salmi was successful in holding his teammates at bay to win the Tigers best and fairest award.

However, it was not without as challenge from talented onballer Sam Chatfield, who made a late charge towards the title.

Both Salmi and Chatfield polled votes consistently, with Salmi drawing away to finish on 32 votes and win the best and fairest ahead of Chatfield on 26 votes. Equal third in the count were Nick Meyer and Lachlan Cox on 14 votes.

Jaxon Healy capped off a big year with Magpies to claim the best and fairest award with 25 votes. While not enjoying the best of seasons, Magpies were competitive throughout and even celebrated a win over Hawks during the season.

Healy claimed the best and fairest award by six votes from equal runners up, Ajay Shalders and Angus Stoffel. Joshua Reid was fourth on 17 votes.

Hawks forward Caleb Bretherton took out the league leading goalkicker award for season 2014.

Another highlight of the presentation evening saw both Toni Stewart and Tim Williams presented with life memberships of the Stawell 13 and Under Football Association. The life memberships were presented by president Paul Hendy.

Stawell 13 and Under Football Association best and fairest:

Jayden Wright 34, Jacob Salmi 31, Bailey Taylor 28, Joshua Reid 17, Aiden Graveson 15, Charlie Farrer 13, Angus Williams 13, Bourke Nicholls 12, Sam Chatfield 12, Lochie Rickard 8, Ryan Nellthorp 8, Cooper Reading 8, Caleb Bretherton 7, Ajay Shalders 7, Jaxon Healy 6, Jacob Lowe 5, Angus Stoffel 4, Nicholas Bendall 3, Kobe Smith 2, Dylan Marrow 2, Max Ralph 2, Owen Summers 1, Madix Perry 1, Nathan Churchill 1.

Hawks: Bailey Taylor 27, Jayden Wright 26, Cooper Reading 21, Nathan Churchill 19, Lochie Rickard 14, Caleb Bretherton 8, Madison Churchill 2, Liam Stewart 2, Jordan Fox 1.

Bulldogs: Aiden Graveson 31, Jacob Lowe 21, Angus Williams 20, Ryan Nellthorp 15, Charlie Farrer 13, Nicholas Bendall 6, Zachary Jenkinson 6, Layn Hendy 3, Luke Matthews 2, Luke Rethus 2, Samuel Jenkinson 1.

Tigers: Jacob Salmi 32, Sam Chatfield 26, Nicholas Meyer 14, Lachlan Cox 14, James Boag 12, Dylan Marrow 8, Josh Leith 4, Joseph Calovic 4, Jack Antonio 2, Darcy McIntosh 2, Ricky Hilton 1, Bourke Nicholls 1.

Magpies: Jaxon Healy 25, Ajay Shalders 19, Angus Stoffel 19, Joshua Reid 17, Hayden Hamilton 13, William Hackwill 8, Jedd Gay 6, Madix Perry 5, Kobe Smith 3, Harley Healy 2, Jaxon Turner 2, Declan Fry 1.


Discuss "Jayden Wright caps off dream season"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.