Mat Skinner wins Stawell Golf championship

Mathew Skinner has charged clear to secure victory in the Stawell Golf Club championship.

Stawell Golf Club champion, Mathew Skinner.

Stawell Golf Club champion, Mathew Skinner.

Skinner played three impressive rounds of golf to claim the championship for 2014, but some of the attention on Saturday went the way of a master stroke.

Steven Odgers landed the shot of the day when he scored a hole-in-one on the sixth hole.

By the end of the three rounds, Skinner recorded a gross score of 223 to secure the title.

Skinner also took out the A grade handicap section with a nett score of 214, playing off a handicap of just three.

This was the first year an intermediate grade has been implemented for golfers with a handicap between 7-12.

It was well received and well contested with only six shots separating the top five players.

Brian Iseppi was the winner of the new section with a gross score of 245 while Randel Bacon was the handicap winner with a nett score of 215.

In the B grade section Lyle McInerney was the stroke winner with a three round score of 268.

Ian Jordan was the handicap winner playing off 16 and recording a nett score of 223.

C grade's Wes Nalder was victorious with a gross score of 268 and Ken Reid was the handicap winner with a nett 224.

Jayden Dignan was this year's winner of the Marc Bacon Memorial and Ken Reid the winner of the Laurie Evans Trophy.

On the day Mat Skinner was the A grade scratch winner with a four over par round of 75 with Matt Dalton the handicap winner with a nett score of 74.

Brian Iseppi won the intermediate scratch with 78 while Tom Newton's nett score of 70 saw him take out the handicap section.

After having not played for some time it was great for the golfers to be joined by Newton again.

Newton was the winner of the monthly medal as well as his handicap victory.

B grade scratch winner was the man who sunk the hole-in-one Steven Odgers, with a round of 88 while Rod Sheppard was the handicap winner with a 73 nett.

Brian St Clair, with a scratch score of 91, took out the C grade and Colin Bates the handicap section with 71.

Rounding out the day's play, Lyn Willcock was the ladies winner with a score of 91 and Joan McPherson the handicap winner with a nett 77.

Nearest the pin winners were Steven Odgers on the Deep Core Drilling sixth hole, Phil Willcock on the ninth Money Hole, Shane Freeland on the Hi Way 8 Motor Inn 13th and Brian Gale on the David Hunter Landscape Gardening 17th.

Second shot in on the Stawell Hydraulics third hole went to Paul Nellthorp and Mat Skinner on the 18th.

There was a total of 53 players on the day.

Brian Iseppi was the Chicken Run winner with 20 points and Mark Rooke runner up on 19.


Discuss "Mat Skinner wins Stawell Golf championship"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.