Grange team claims shield

Dianne Burton, Leigh Johnston and Rae Smith have put on a stunning display to claim this year's Grange Golf Club Shield.

Rae Smith, Leigh Johnston and Dianne Burton who claimed the coveted Grange Shield.

Rae Smith, Leigh Johnston and Dianne Burton who claimed the coveted Grange Shield.

The trio combined for a total of 112 points to see them victorious.

Marilyn Knights of St Arnaud was the winner of the day with a score of 41 points.

Knights finished on equal points to Leigh Johnston who was the runner up after the countback had been complete.

The best nine out in the A grade section went to Grange golfer Marianne Mitchell on 22 points and the best nine in of 20 points went to Kaye Skinner, who came across from the Stawell Golf Club.

In the B grade Rae Smith of Grange was the winner with 36 points in a countback from Eunice Balle.

Carmel Weir of St Arnaud had the best nine out with 17 points and Jane Delley the best nine in with 19 points.

Muriel Hart from Stawell Golf Club was the C grade winner on 39 points, with the runner up Rose Paynter from Toolondo.

Jan Alborough of Stawell was the best nine out winner with 20 points and Cheryle Bell from Toolondo on 19 points was the best nine in.

Nearest the pin winners were Trudy Hall on the second hole, Marilyn Knights on the 10th and hole Kath Rook of Horsham on the 14th.

Nearest the pin second shot winners were Leigh Johnston on the seventh hole and Marilyn Knights on the ninth hole.

Members of the team of the day were Marianne Mitchell, Leigh Johnston and Muriel Hart with a combined total of 118 points.

It was a quality field of players from Stawell, Horsham, Toolondo, St Arnaud and Grange who gathered for the event.

The event was sponsored by Kaylene Cameron and Grange Golf Club life member Enid Chapman.

The ladies match committee would like to thank the volunteers who helped out with the course preparation and assisted on the day.


Discuss "Grange team claims shield"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.