Navarre's junior footballers reign supreme

MCDFNL - Navarre's under 17.5 footballers confirmed they were the best team for the year by winning the Maryborough Castlemaine District Football League premiership against Carisbrook last weekend.

Navarre were favourites as they only lost once for the year, however the game was a lot closer than many expected and it wasn't until the second half that the Grasshoppers really took hold of the match to run out 34 point winners.

Navarre scored first through Daniel Bridgman and a clever tap from Aaron Slorach to Cody Driscoll enabled him to run into an open goal.

Carisbrook weren't to be denied and they kicked the next three goals to take a four point lead at quarter time.

Play was extremely tight in the second term with both teams finding it difficult to score.

Driscoll's goal for Navarre was the only major for the quarter, while the Navarre back line held Carisbrook scoreless.

The Fowkes brothers, Josh and Jayden, were amongst the action along with Paul Carson while Lachlan Slorach played the link man between the defence and forward line extremely well as Navarre went into the main break with a three point buffer.

The third term saw Navarre open up the lead with goals to Paden McSparron and Zach Chisholm.

Navarre were playing a lot better and Carisbrook's defence was desperately trying to keep the Grasshoppers out.

The back line of Harley McKenny, Jack McRae, Thomas Walter, Paul Carson, Matthew Grinham and Josh Fowkes kept Carisbrook scoreless after quarter time.

In fact, Carisbrook found it difficult to even enter the forward 50 after half time as the pressure from Lachlan Slorach, Jayden Fowkes, Austin Squire, Driscoll and Tom Hannett often stopped the footy from going past the middle.

Matthew Grinham, Dillon Aspland, Jesse Hannett, Tom Walters and Curtis Bibby worked hard all over the ground to generate more possessions and create opportunities.

In the final term, goals to Aaron Slorach and Curtis Bibby put the game beyond reach with Navarre taking home the 2012 premiership 7.10 (52) to 3.0 (18).

Jayden Fowkes, who has had a fantastic season in both senior and under 17.5 matches, was awarded the Victorian Country Football League best on ground award.

Lachlan Slorach received the umpires medal, while Cody Driscoll and Jordan Squire were named among Navarre's best.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide