Big fields for State Vets championships

STAWELL - It has been a busy time for the Grange Golf Club who hosted the Victorian Veterans men's championships, sponsored by Jeff O'Donnell Electrical and Air Conditioning and African Wildlife Safaris.

The event was a huge boost for the club and saw 205 players hit the greens over three days of competition.

Golfers from all across Victoria competed in stableford and fourball best ball stableford competitions with the Sandgreen Victorian 18 hole championship held on the final day.

John Tuckey led the way for Grange in the Sandgreen competition, taking home division (2) nett spoils with 81-18-63 from Bandiana's Jim Britton (80-16-64).

However, Kevin Robinson from Buninyong was crowned overall winner with a score of 74, edging out Greg Proud (75) on a countback from Peter Kelly.

Best nett score over 70 was Mervyn Fox from Chalambar on a countback with 84-19-65.

Phil Maisano (Neangar Park) was division (1) nett winner with 79-15-64 from Peter Williams (Castlemaine) on 78-13-65.

Division (3) was awarded to Greg Banks-Smith (Traralgon) with 85-22-63, two shots ahead of Grange's Greg O'Callaghan (96-31-65) on a countback from Bernie Coffey.

Nearest pins went to Robert Taylor (Bright; second hole), Terry Smith (Bandiana; seventh), Phil Maisano (Neangar Park, ninth) with Grange pair John Tuckey and John Smith saluting on the 10th and 14th holes respectively.

Rex Schirmer from Dimboola held on to win the stableford event with 39 points, on a countback from Ouyen's Ken Graham.

Grange regular Mal Pallot from Birchip was a ball comp winner along with Kevin Johnson (Port Fairy), Barry Muir, Greg Banks-Smith and Geoff O'Brien (Traralgon).

Grange's Rob Scott and John Tuckey almost claimed a win in the fourball best ball stableford but had to settle for runner up following a countback with Allan Grant and Bob Murphy (Harrow and Bandiana).

Both pairs finished with 49 points.

Rounding out the top three was Max Grigg (Harrow) and Clyde Vearing (Chalambar) on 48 points.

Rutherglen's Roselyn Black was the ladies winner with 41 points, from Avoca's Pat Adams (32).

Ball comp winners were Ian and Trevor Yole, Bernie Klein/Kevin Robinson, Alan Monroe/Dave Alger, Laurie McKenzie/Bob Knight, Jock Winter/Clarrie Dickerson, Geoff O'Brien/Barry Muir, Ken Graham/Ken Reid, Chris Veldman/Ian Cordy, Phil Maisano/Ian O'Shea.

Nearest pins went to Bernie Clyne (Midlands; second hole) John Neville (St Arnaud; seventh), Phil Adams (Avoca; ninth), Dennis Hamilton (Midlands; 10th) and Phil Jamieson (Ballarat; 14th).

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide