Stawell Wildcats elect new committee

Stawell Wildcats Basketball Association have welcomed in a new committee ahead of their upcoming season.

Richard Hackwill had the honour of being elected the new president of the association at a meeting held last week.

He took the time to thank all departing committee members such as Aiden Lee, Trevor Holmes, Maryann Ellis Jordan Little, Simon Hallet, Dean Mannington, Erin Freeland and Bek Seeary for all their hard work and help in the running of Stawell Wildcats over the past couple of years.

Hackwill has so far been overwhelmed by the support shown to him by not only the new committee, but the Stawell basketball public.

The new Wildcats committee consists of Hackwill as the president, Bec Austin vice president, Jodie Grinham secretary and the only returning executive committee member Andrea Morrow who is still treasurer.

General committee members include Aiden Lee, Emma Fiscalini, Joel Freeland, Robin Leslie and Grace Bibby.

The first meeting of the new committee will be held at 6.30pm tomorrow at the Stawell Leisure Complex where all members are welcome.

Hackwill said all programs would continue to be supported and he was sure would grow bigger and better.

Men's and ladies Country Basketball League teams will take the court again this year, Stawell Wildcats Basketball Association will help more referees to improve and get graded, the ever popular Wildcub program and under 10 competition will remain in place and hopefully continue its tremendous growth.

The first step in this year's squad project will start soon with Sunday training sessions leading up to the annual Stawell/Ararat challenge around June.

All senior Wildcat players will be encouraged to help with training.

Everyone involved with the Wildcats Association is looking forward to a smooth and successful year on and off the court.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide