South West Ward by-election approaches

REGION - Minister for Local Government Jeanette Powell has reminded all eligible voters in Northern Grampians South West Ward to take the opportunity and exercise their right to vote for the Northern Grampians by-election candidate they believe will best represent them on council until October 2016.

"The election of a councillor is an important task and cannot be underestimated given Northern Grampians Shire's reputation as a great place in which to live, work, invest and visit," Mrs Powell said.

"It is important to remember that this is a postal by-election only and completed ballot papers must be posted to the Victorian Electoral Commission in the reply-paid envelope provided by 6pm Friday, March 14."

Registered voters who haven't received a ballot pack should call the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) on 131 832 during business hours;

The Northern Grampians Shire Council by-election follows the resignation of Councillor Paul Russell in December 2013.

Sam Haamid, Ross Clementson, Dean Thomas, Don Gardiner, Jason Hosemans, Graeme Anyon, Stephen Odgers and Barry Marrow have all nominated to fill the vacated seat.

The successful candidate will join Mayor, Cr Kevin Erwin (central ward), Merrilee Reid and Tony Driscoll (Kara Kara Ward), Murray Emerson, Karen Hyslop and Wayne Rice (Stawell ward) on council.

The VEC must receive completed ballot papers by 6pm, Friday, March 14. Further information is available at:

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide