Ballot packs on their way for voters

REGION - Postal ballot packs are being mailed to electors in the Northern Grampians Shire Council's South West Ward ahead of this month's by-election.

Ballot packs contain a ballot paper, candidate statements, photos and indication of preferences, a declaration envelope, a reply paid envelope for return of the ballot paper and voting instructions.

If you have not received your ballot pack by tomorrow, March 5, you are advised to call 131 832 during normal business hours.

The completed ballot paper must be returned in the reply paid envelope so that it is in the hands of the Returning Officer by 6pm on Friday, March 14.

Voting is compulsory for all Australian citizens aged 18 to 70 who were registered on the voters roll in South West Ward at 4pm on Friday, January 17 including homeowners and tenants.

If you are on the roll for the Northern Grampians Shire Council, South West Ward by-election and you fail to vote, you will be asked for an explanation in writing.

If you do not have an acceptable reason for failing to vote, you may be fined.

Sam Haamid, Ross Clementson, Dean Thomas, Don Gardiner, Jason Hosemans, Graeme Anyon, Stephen Odgers and Barry Marrow have all nominated to fill the South West Ward seat vacated by Paul Russell in December.

The successful candidate will join Mayor, Cr Kevin Erwin (central ward), Merrilee Reid and Tony Driscoll (Kara Kara Ward), Murray Emeron, Karen Hyslop and Wayne Rice (Stawell ward) on council.

Northern Grampians Shire is divided into four wards. There is a total of seven councillor positions.

South West Ward includes Halls Gap, Stawell Ward covers Stawell, Central Ward covers Glenorchy, Marnoo and Navarre and Kara Kara Ward includes St Arnaud and Stuart Mill.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide